Sew what?

Way back when I was in school, one of my classmates and fellow floormates had a really uncomfortable mattress. These mattresses were likely as old as the building, a former nursing college residence. Fortunately for her, there were some empty rooms down the hall. We suggested she simply swap mattresses with one from another bed. “I can’t do that!” she exclaimed. “I’ll feel bad for my mattress.” This was met with peals of laughter and much mocking; however, I got her. I knew exactly how she felt. I had always been a bit of a pack rat, and couldn’t bring myself to part with much (this means that I still have some pretty sweet bits of story-writing from circa 1989, which perhaps I’ll share later). So, she kept her lumpy mattress, and I held onto my notes from that year at school for a lot longer than I care to admit. You never know: you might need to know the innervations of the brachial plexus some day.

It seems as though I have passed along my sympathy for inanimate objects to my little one. We were going through his t-shirts, pulling out everything that was too small. “No, Mommy! Can we keep the green one (his favourite colour) and my Superhero Squad t-shirt?” I felt his pain. Those poor shirts were about to be abandoned! So, I went to trusty Google and looked up “how to make a t-shirt pillow”. It appeared as though this would be a sewing machine job. Oh, no. I can hold my own with a needle and thread, but I had yet to have used a sewing machine. I put in a call to my mom, and she came to my rescue with a sewing machine tutorial. That Singer of hers is still kicking 36 years after she received it as a wedding gift from her parents:

Should I have asked for harvest gold instead?

Should I have asked for harvest gold instead?

Pillow #1 was the green t-shirt. My mom did most of the work on this one, as you can see:

Mom took Home Ec in school

Mom took Home Ec in school

Pillow #2 I did on my own. I wish I could say that the reason my stitches on the first side look like this:

I, on the other hand, did *not* take Home Ec.

I, on the other hand, did *not* take Home Ec.

…because I had been drinking. Alas, no. I forgot to put the foot down to hold the fabric in place.

So the second side should look a bit better, right?

Seriously? Get it together, woman.

Seriously? Get it together, woman.

Nope. Oh, right, the foot.

In the end, he was quite pleased to see his shirts alive and well (and cuddlier than before!). I was quite pleased to finally get that bag of fibre-fill out of the family room (“Mommy, are you going to make my t-shirt pillows soon?”)

Snuggle time!

Snuggle time!

I think next time I pull out the sewing machine, I’ll practise making straight lines on fabric that doesn’t s-t-r-e-t-c-h.

Baby steps, Kitten, baby steps.

Baby steps, Kitten, baby steps.

Leave a Reply

