‘I was ruuunning-guh!’

Thank you, Forrest Gump, for that great quotation.

Working the 40-hour week doesn’t leave a lot of time for exercise. And if you’re like me, that’s a great excuse for not doing it.

Lately, though, I’ve been feeling rather sluggish, zapped of energy, and, well, just plain soft. So, I figured it was time to pull out those shoes that last got a good workout almost three years ago. Yes, three.

Now, the trick was finding time to get a “run” (if that’s what you’d call what I’ve been doing) in. I had two choices:

a) get up before everyone else at 5:30 (and I love being in bed so this was not an attractive option)

b) run at night after dinner and bedtimes (and I love relaxing in front of the tv after a long day at work so this was also an unattractive option)

So, in the end, the early morning won out. Because let’s face it, I’m really an inertia-loving gal. The sooner I can get back to not moving, the better.

I’ve managed to get my butt out of bed for the last 7 of 8 mornings (including Sunday before church!). I don’t go far, likely because I can’t (haven’t tried going any farther), but mostly because I don’t want to and I have that great old excuse of not having more time to go farther even if I did want to.

The funny thing is, though, that I’ve actually been looking forward to getting up and going out. It makes me feel in control of my body. It gives me quiet time to think and listen. It’s the only time in the day when I actually thank God for giving me legs that can run, even if I don’t always make them do it. And too often I don’t actually give thanks for the hundreds of things that I have and take for granted.

I have also seen a bunny three mornings out of seven, which for some reason makes me feel very happy and excited like a little kid seeing one for the first time. Why are they so endearing? Maybe it’s because I was a big fan of Beatrix Potter as a kid.

I’ve put a ticker at the side of the blog to keep track of how far I’ve gone. It’s not likely the best ticker, and it’s not really putting all the info out as I’d like to see it (a total accumulated km underneath how far I’ve gone this week). But I’m soaked behind the ears when it comes to blogging, so it will do.

I still haven’t told anyone about this blog because really, who wants to read a blog with nothing on it? Now I’m at three posts, so perhaps it’s time.

Oh, and it’s our three-year anniversary today! I love you, Marshall! My twirly dress is on and I’m ready for our date tonight. I love that I’m getting a ride to work today. I’m one lucky blessed lady.

Gotta run (!)

Lily

3 thoughts on “‘I was ruuunning-guh!’

  1. LOVE THIS! I can’t believe you get up at 5:30 to run!!! Maybe I’ll do that with you. I sure can’t do it in the evenings. And I’m tired of being, as you say, “soft.” And you do it on top of a 40 hour work week? Man, that makes me feel like a slug.

    Welcome to the wonderful world of blogging! I hope it brings you as much happiness as it brings to me. Stick with it. It gets easier and more fun once you start getting readers and commenters!

    Like

    • Thanks, Iris!

      You have posted the very first comment to my blog (puffs out chest proudly) .

      Yes, I’ve been up at 5:30 9 times in the last 10 days to “run” 2 km. I think I only have to do it 12 more times for it to be officially considered a habit, right?

      Like

Leave a Reply

